Justice, Opportunity and Shared Wealth for all South Australians

You are here

SACOSS Life Members

The SACOSS Board may from time to time award Honorary Life Membership to a member to recognise their exceptional contribution to SACOSS, and an outstanding contribution to addressing poverty, equity and justice. 
A candidate for Life Membership must have been a financial Member of SACOSS for at least 10 years and have made a very significant contribution in terms of time, effort and commitment, leadership and extraordinary service in support of SACOSS.

A significant contribution is one which results in SACOSS making exceptional, demonstrable, and positive progress towards addressing poverty, injustice and inequity and which required extensive personal effort. This is highly likely to have involved a contribution that goes above and well beyond that which would normally be expected from a person in fulfilling their professional role.
Candidates must additionally meet one of the following criteria (or a combination of the above, at the discretion of the SACOSS Board):

  • Ten years of service on the SACOSS Board, Policy Council or committee
  • Ten years of service as a SACOSS volunteer/supporter/staff

Or a combination of the above, at the discretion of the SACOSS board. 

if you know someone you believe the Board should be considering please contact Ross ASAP to get a copy of the nomination form.


Mr Harvey Brown

Mr Brian Butler

Prof Ed Carson

Mr Kym Davey

Mr Michael Dawson

Ms Marj Ellis

Ms Colleen Fitzpatrick

Ms Gael Fraser

Mr Leigh Garrett

Mr Peter Hall

Ms Sheila Hall AM

Ms Christine Halsey

Mr Mark Henley

Mr Simon Kneebone

Ms Wendy Malycha

Ms Margaret McKenzie

Ms Anthea Pavy

Ms Louise Portway

Mr Lange Powell

Mr Simon Schrapel AM

Ms Pam Simmons

Mr Brian Ward

Mr Mark Waters

Hon Andrew BC Wilson AM

Mr Ian Yates AM


SACOSS is also very glad to acknowledge and commemorate the contributions of life members who are no longer with us. You can read more about these special SACOSS people here.