Justice, Opportunity and Shared Wealth for all South Australians

You are here

National Consumer Roundtable on Energy


The National Consumer Roundtable on Energy (Roundtable) is an informal coalition of national and jurisdictional energy consumer advocates primarily focussed on policy dialogue and strategic collaboration. The Roundtable has been running since 2004, and is currently convened and co-ordinated by SACOSS and governed by a Steering Committee.  It meets twice per year in various capital cities of the NEM. These meetings provide consumer advocates with the opportunity to consider, collaborate and strategise about contemporary energy policy.

The Roundtable also involves the establishment of up to 4 - 6 Enabling Groups each year which will operate to progress collective action on a set of agreed issues.  

Our Vision: Small energy consumers in Australia are well served when decisions are made which take account of consumer interests.

Our Mission: To better enable participant organisations to deliver outcomes at national and state levels that are in the long term interests of small energy consumers, with a focus on the consumption and production of electricity and gas.

Roundtable Participant Organisations

ACT Council of Social Service (ACTCOSS)
Anglicare Tasmania
Australian Council of Social Service (ACOSS)
Brotherhood of St Laurence (BSL)
Central Victorian Greenhouse Alliance (CVGA)
Consumer Action Law Centre (CALC)
Consumer Policy Research Centre (CPRC)
Council on the Ageing (COTA)
Energy Consumers Australia (as an observer)
Ethnic Communities Council of NSW (ECCNSW)
Kildonan UnitingCare
Public Interest Advocacy Centre Ltd (PIAC)
Queensland Council of Social Service (QCOSS)
Renew (formerly Alternative Technology Association)
South Australian Council of Social Service (SACOSS)
St Vincent de Paul Society Victoria (SvDP)
Tasmanian Council of Social Service (TasCOSS)
Total Environment Centre (TEC)
Uniting Communities
Victorian Council of Social Service (VCOSS)
Western Australian Council of Social Service (WACOSS)

Roundtable Steering Committee

Craig Memery, PIAC
Dean Lombard, Renew 
Gavin Dufty, SvDP
Iain Maitland, ECCNSW
Mark Henley, Uniting Communities
Robyn Robinson, COTA QLD
Maureen Boyle, SACOSS​

Roundtable Resources and Links

Impact Report 2020

Impact Report 2019


10 Years of Policy Dialogue and Strategic Collaboration

Roundtable Meetings and Outcomes

Roundtable Enabling Groups